Anambra Election: INEC announces live results in Awka (UPDATES)


The Anambra governorship election held on Saturday, November 18, 2017 with 36 candidates vying for the seat of power. The electioneering process was characterised by low turn out and late arrival of materials and personnel in many areas.
While it was unanimously agreed that the election, was, however, violence-free except in isolated incidents, the card readers posed challenges for some areas and polling units.

INEC announces results of Anambra election

INEC officials at work counting results of votes in Anambra Election
(Premium Times)

Many of the results were collated at the various INEC local government offices very late on Saturday night till early Sunday morning.
The final collation of results at the INEC headquarters in Awka, the state capital, is now being expected‎.
Pulse brings you live updates of the final, official results as well as happenings at the INEC headquarters.

INEC announces live results in Anambra election

INEC officials


to Premium Times, a few collation officers from the LGAs have
reportedly arrived and are scribbling results into some sheets.
However, INEC officials have however shown no signs that results announcement would commence soon.

INEC announces live results in Anambra election

Party agents at the INEC office


Times reports that the DG of Governor Willy Obiano re-election campaign
arrived the state collation centre at INEC headquarters armed with
duplicate copies of results obtained at the different centres amid fears
that the delays had untoward purposes.


reports that the returning officer is Zana Akpagu, vice-chancellor of
the University of Calabar (UNICAL). 16 LGAs are ready to present their
results out of the 21 LGAs in Anambra state. Akpagu said only the 16
LGAs have returned their results in the list with him. Akpagu is now
observing protocols and welcoming everyone to the session.


INEC announces live results of Anambra governorship election

Results been announced


Njikoka LGA results announced by the collating officer, Robinson Ogbuishi.
Registered voters: 88793 
Accredited voters: 28346
APC: 5756
APGA: 16944
PDP: 3477 
UPP: 108


Dunukofia LGA 
Registered voters: 63,861 
Accredited voters: 18,632
APC 7,016
APGA 8,575
PDP 1,830
UPP 106


Awka South LGA
Registered voters: 149,279
Accredited voters: 36,114
APC: 6,167
APGA: 18,957
PDP: 5354
UPP: 150


The collation officer for Awka South LGA, Edoje Edoh,
disclosed that results in five polling units — Aguoka, Amiaba, Ezinato,
Umuawulu and Amiaba — were disallowed because of “over-voting” and also
because the collation officers in some of the units “failed to appear
to present their results”.


Anyamelum LGA
Registered voters: 60,034
Accredited voters: 23,837
APC: 5,412
APGA: 14,593
PDP: 2,323
UPP: 77


Asuquo, the collation officer of Anyamelum, says votes were cancelled
in Polling Unit-10 in Umuege because figures were not reconciled, the
collation officer was being threatened, and the absence of security. In
Omoh PU-02, result sheets were snatched but later recovered while in
Omoh Polling Unit-18, the ballot box was also snatched.


Anaocha LGA
Registered voters: 89,515
Accredited voters: 25,474 
APGA: 11,237
APC: 5,297
PDP: 6554
UPP: 446


Orumba South LGA 
Registered voters: 63,149 
Accredited voters: 16,528
APGA: 8,125
APC: 3,808
PDP: 2,412
UPP: 465


The collation officer for Orumba South, David Ogah,
has said results were cancelled in Umuomaku Polling Unit-001, Umuozu
Polling Unit-006, Umuozu Polling Unit-008 and Agu Polling Unit-008. He
said the cancellation was as a result of “over-voting”.


Ekwusigo LGA
Registered voters: 73,800
Accredited voters: 20,196
APC: 5,412
APGA: 8,595
PDP: 3,856
UPP: 320


Ajake, the collation officer for Ekwusigo LGA says results from five
polling units in four wards in Ekwusigo were rejected due to over
voting. The wards include Amagwa 001, Iheatua 004, Ozubulu 003 and Ichi


Aguata LGA
Registered voters: 121,009  
Accredited voters: 20,388
APC: 5,807
APGA: 13,167
PDP: 4,073
UPP: 280


In Aguata
LGA, results from five Polling Units were cancelled because the
returning officer ran away with the ballot box, and also as a result of
over-voting. The polling units are Ekwulobia 002, Igbukwu 004, Ugah 001,
Imuchu 002 and Imuchu 006.


Onitsha North LGA
Registered voters: 127,865 
Accredited voters: 20,806
APC: 3,808
APGA: 10,138
PDP: 4,143
UPP: 435


Ogbaru LGA
Registered voters: 149,070 
Accredited voters: 16,049
APC: 3,415
APGA: 6,615
PDP: 4,416
UPP: 59


from some polling units in four wards in Ogbaru LGA were rejected due
to the alleged molestation of the returning officers and a threat to
kidnap one of them.


collation officer for Onitsha North has updated his report saying
results from 17 polling units were affected due to various forms of
electoral malpractice and threatening of electoral officers. He said the
total number of registered voters in the 17 affected Polling Units are
20,942. His update did not sit well with party agents, some of whom have
voiced their discontent.


Idemili South LGA
Registered voters: 94,197
Accredited voters: 14,205
APC: 4,063
APGA: 5,742
PDP: 2,629
UPP: 600


Idemili South LGA, results of some polling units in five wards were
rejected due to the use of manual voting in some Polling Units and
over-voting in others.


returning officer has announced a 20 minutes break. The process of
reading out results will, hopefully, resume at about 1:20pm.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here